1997 Women of Distinction

The Girl Scout Council of Hawaii hosted its 1997 Women of Distinction Awards at the Hilton Hawaiian Village Coral Ballroom on Thursday, November 13, 1997 at 6:00 p.m.  The event was a first time national Girl Scout tribute that honored high ranking female service officers for their achievements as role models for young women.  In addition, the Girl Scouts will presented the 1997 Military Trailblazer award in recognition of outstanding lifetime military achievement.

Girl Scouts of the USA National President Elinor J. Ferdon made a special appearance at this landmark occasion to present the awards to the honorees. Click here to see her dinner remarks, “The Hidden Heroine in Every Girl.”

The 1997 Women of Distinction Honorees are:


Lieutenant General Carol A. Mutter
United States Marine Corps
Deputy Chief of Staff, Manpower and Reserve Affairs, Washington, D.C.


Lieutenant General Claudia J. Kennedy
United States Army
Deputy Chief of Staff for Intelligence, Pentagon


Rear Admiral Veronica Zasadni Froman
United States Navy
Commander, NAVBASE, San Diego


Colonel Ann M. Testa
United States Air Force
Commander, 15th Air Base, Hickam AFB


Commander Kathleen M. Donohoe
United States Coast Guard
U.S. Coast Guard Group Honolulu


The 1997 Military Trailblazer award was presented to:

Brigadier General Frances I. Mossman (Ret)
United States Air Force

The sponsors of the 1997 Women of Distinction Awards were:

Platinum Sponsors
A Touch of Class Travel/John Henry Felix
BHP Hawaii
Lockheed Martin Technology Services
Sony Hawaii

Gold Sponsors
AT&T Hawaii
Alexander & Baldwin
Bank of Hawaii
Dwyer Imanaka Schraff Kudo Meyer & Fujimoto
GTE Hawaiian Tel
Hilton Hawaiian Village
United Airlines

Silver Sponsors
Aston Hotels & Resorts
Budget Rent-A-Car Hawaii
Carole Kai Charities, Inc./Great Aloha Run
The Estate of James Campbell
First Hawaiian Bank
Hawaii Medical Service Association (HMSA)
Hawaiian Electric Company
Liberty House

Green Sponsors
AIG Hawaii Insurance Company, Inc.
Aloha Blooms/Bern and Lorraine Inouye
Aloha Air
Phil and Mimi Brown
Central Pacific Bank
Deloitte & Touche LLP
G.E. Capital Hawaii
Hill & Knowlton
Honolulu Star Bulletin
KPMG Peat Marwick LLP
Little Brownie Bakers
Alfred and Ruth Ono
Outrigger Hotels & Resorts
SERVCO Pacific
Sheraton Hotels Waikiki/Kyo-Ya Co. Ltd.

AON Risk Services
Mendel and May Brothwick
Carlsmith Ball Wichman Case Ichiki
CDS International/Carol Sakata, FAIA
Castle & Cooke Homes Hawaii
Florexotica Hawaii/Oz and Ku'ulei Stender
Foodland Supermarkets
Hawaii Government Employees Association
Kaiser Permanente
Kapi'olani Health
Queen's Health Care Plan
The Shipman House Bed and Breakfast
Straub Clinic & Hospital, Inc.
Tiffany & Co.
Indru and Gulab Watumull
Robert W. Wo, Jr.

Special thanks to the following Girl Scout Supporters who are represented at our honorees' tables:

William H. Mau Foundation
Harry & Jeanette Weinburg Foundation
Marguerite Gambo Wood Foundation

Girl Scout and Military Dinner Hosts:

ABC Stores
AES Barbers Point
Associated Steel Workers
Samuel A. and Mary M. Cooke
Mildred Courtney
Ltc Nancy Heath Davenport
Christina M. DeLeon
Barbara Dew
Michael Drace
First Insurance Company of Hawaii
Flags 'n Things
Floral Resources Hawaii
Emily Fujii
James F. Gary
General Services
Hawaii State Teachers Association
Hawaiian Dredging
Glenn  Hong
Heide & Cook
Louise Ing
Honolulu Cellular
Vice Admiral Robert Kihune
William Paty
Phyllis A. Richards
See's Candies, Inc.


Home / Girl Scouting in Hawaii

[Women of Distinction] [Archive Big Island]

©1995 Girl Scout Council of Hawaii. All Rights Reserved.
Revised December 1997.
Legal Notice.